How & Why to Create a Duplicate Before Making Edits

If you’ve ever made edits to your Squarespace site, saved the page, and then realized you made a mistake and desperately tried to go back to the original, you know how upsetting that can be.

young man with glasses holding head in hands looking down in front of his laptop, indicating upset

I particularly appreciate that duplicating a site will not change anything on the original, live site.

It’s also stress-relieving that any changes I make to the duplicate site will not sync to the original.

I make a duplicate of every 7.1 site I work on.

To make a duplicate of (almost) your entire site:

  1. When logged in, click on your Account Dashboard

  2. Click … on the site you want to duplicate

  3. Click “Duplicate Website” (takes a few minutes, depending on the size of your website)

  4. Your duplicate site will have the same site title but will end with the word “Copy.”

Some site-specific settings will not duplicate, but having a duplicate of MOST of your website, particularly the content pages, is handy insurance before making any major edits.


What will not duplicate with this feature?

  • Add-on features and subscriptions, like domains and Email Campaigns

  • Audio files uploaded to audio blocks

  • Blog comments

  • Demo content or content marked for deletion, like pages and blog posts in trash cans

  • Files uploaded through the link editor

  • Free or premium licensed stock images

  • Images and videos in the Asset library that aren't used on the pages of the site

  • Saved sections (you can save a section to your “account” and reuse on the duplicate site)

  • Selling settings, including orders, discounts, and subscriptions

  • Third-party integrations that require authenticated access, like connected accounts and API keys

  • Website-specific settings and panels, like analytics, billing plans, contacts, and contributor permissions

  • Sites with over 150 pages


Duplicating “SECTIONS”

When I’m building on Squarespace, I reuse “sections” frequently. That way, when I want to replicate the style or formatting that I used within a specific section, I can reuse it anywhere on my site or on another Squarespace 7.1 site that I own or manage. This saves a lot of time!

Here’s how to take advantage of the “save section” feature:

  • Hover your mouse anywhere within the section you want to duplicate. You must be in EDIT mode. You’ll see the heart icon in the floating section toolbar.

  • Click on the “heart icon” and save to your website.

screen capture of where to add a section

If you want to tackle duplicating your website, individual sections, pages, and more, Squarespace’s video explains it all:


Sue Wallis Williams

Wallis Williams Design helps businesses improve their online presence by providing guidance, expertise and experience in marketing, graphic design, and Squarespace website development.

https://walliswilliams.com
Previous
Previous

The Advantages of Meta Tags for Better SEO & AI Visibility

Next
Next

Clear Signs You Need to Hire an Experienced Expert